Using states, like California, when one owns a judgment caused by a car accident; one can occasionally apply with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), to obtain their judgment debtor’s driver’s license suspended, until they satisfy their judgment.
This information is my estimation, and not legal advice. I’m a judgment broker, and am not just a lawyer. In the event that you ever need any legal advice or a method to utilize, please contact a lawyer.
A judgment debtor’s drivers license suspension can just only be attempted if the explanation for action for the judgment involved a car accident, when the damages are above a particular amount. In California, the laws state that the driver’s license for the registered vehicle owner, and the driver, could be suspended for six years; or before the judgment is satisfied.
In California, you would use the DL-30 form. Other states have different form names and procedures. As a judgment owner, you complete the UK FAKE ID form yourself. To get their driver’s license back, the judgment debtor will have to settle or satisfy the judgment. Be sure to provide the proper address for the judgment debtor, to insure they will get notified. Just that DMV notification of your DL-30 request, could easily get your debtor to settle with you.
You can get the DL-30 from the DMV’s website. Complete the form, and bring it to your court, and pay them about $37.50. The court signs the DL-30 form, and attaches a professional copy of the judgment; and then stamps the DL-30 form. After this you mail that off to the DMV, the address is on the DL-30 form; along with another $20 check to them. If you should be attempting to suspend the driver’s license of the registered owner of the automobile, and that individual is different from the driver; you will even have to submit proof of vehicle ownership (registration printout) to the DMV.
In the us which allow this type of judgment recovery attempt, each has their very own laws. In California, the DL-30 form must be used within 3 years to getting the vehicle-related judgment, or within 3 years of the judgment’s renewal. Here are five possible glitches, when asking the motor vehicle department to suspend your judgment debtor’s drivers license, for unhappy a car accident-related judgment:
1) Some judgment debtors don’t care about their driver’s license getting revoked, and some continue driving against what the law states; others let some other person drive them around. And, since this tactic does not directly force the debtor to pay you, this could be one particular issues that sounds better in theory, compared to results it brings. One judgment recovery rule is, don’t do things to interfere together with your debtor earning money, at least until you are repaid. Only the judgment debtor’s available assets might be levied to satisfy your judgment.
2) Some courts are sympathetic if the debtor files a complaint with the court, claiming they need to drive due to their job, or even to take their mother to a healthcare facility, etc.
3) Most motor vehicle departments have a low priority for doing this. Normally it takes 6 months for the DMV to suspend the driver’s license of your debtor after your DL-30 form is sent to them.
4) You will need to ask the court how to complete the form. Even although the DL-30 form says the court is designed to fill all the form out, most courts make you do that yourself, with the exception of the little section for the court’s authorizing signature and date stamp.
5) If your judgment debtor files for bankruptcy protection, you can’t start any new actions to suspend their driver’s license, without first getting written permission from the bankruptcy court. If you have already had the debtor’s driver’s license suspended, before their bankruptcy filing; the debtor, upon a successful bankruptcy; features a right to obtain their license re-instated. The debtor must provide a professional copy of the bankruptcy discharge order to the DMV, to obtain their license suspension lifted.